National Experts Program | Prof. Eric Xing

NEP 3.0

Prof. Eric Xing

Dr. Ameena Al-Sumaiti

Technology and Innovation

President, Mohamed bin Zayed University of Artificial Intelligence

Eric Xing is an American computer scientist, entrepreneur, and President and University Professor of Mohamed bin Zayed University of Artificial Intelligence (MBZUAI). Previously, Xing was a professor in the School of Computer Science and the founding director of the Center for Machine Learning and Health at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU). Xing is also founder, chairman, chief scientist, and former CEO of Petuum Inc., a 2018 World Economic Forum Technology Pioneer company.

As a thought leader, Xing is continually bringing together the global AI community to pursue ideas that benefit society. To make AI accessible to small to medium enterprises, Xing founded the CASL open-source community. CASL technologies helped to standardize the first truly commercial and versatile AI operating system, and they make AI engineering and production far more time and cost efficient.

As a world-leading computer scientist, Xing excels in theory, application, and system at the same time. His major contributions lie in the foundational work of statistical machine learning methodology, including pioneering work in distance metric learning; statistical models and analyses of networks; methods for learning and analyzing graphical models; and new systems, theories, and algorithms for distributed machine learning. Xing holds Ph.D.s in both computer science, and molecular biology and biochemistry, from U.C. Berkeley and the State University of New Jersey respectively.

Xing is a board member of the International Machine Learning Society, a fellow of the Association of Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers IEEE, and a fellow of the American Statistical Association (ASA). He is a member of the United States Department of Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Information Science and Technology (ISAT) advisory group. He is a recipient of the National Science Foundation (NSF) Career Award; the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship in Computer Science; the United States Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award; and the IBM Open Collaborative Research Faculty Award.